Holy Days of Obligation
The Solemnity of the Nativity of the Lord (Christmas Day, December 25th) and
the Solemnity of the Immaculate Conception (December 8th) are always
Holy Days of Obligation in the United States, regardless of the day they fall on.

For other movable Holy Days, Catholics in the United States are not obligated to attend Mass
if that Holy Day falls on a Saturday or Monday.

-  January 1, 2015 (Thursday):                  Mary, Mother of God - a holy day of obligation
-  May 14, 2015 (Thursday):                     Ascension of the Lord - a holy day of obligation
-  August 15, 2015 (Saturday):                  Assumption of the Blessed Virgin Mary - since it falls on a Saturday, it is not a holy day
                                                                  of obligation
s this year
-  November 1, 2015 (Sunday):                 All Saints - since it falls on a Sunday, it is a day of obligation
-  December 8, 2015 (Tuesday):                Immaculate Conception -  a holy day of obligation to attend Mass, the U.S. Patronal feast
-  December 25, 2015 (Friday):                 Christmas - always a holy day of obligation to attend Mass

What Are the Holy Days of Obligation?
(Source: Jimmy Akin, June 11, 2013   -   www.catholic.com/blog/jimmy-akin/what-are-the-holy-days-of-obligation)

The Catechism of the Catholic Church explains holy days of obligation this way:
On Sundays and other holy days of obligation, the faithful are to refrain from engaging in work or activities that hinder the worship
owed to God, the joy proper to the Lord's Day, the performance of the works of mercy, and the appropriate relaxation of mind
and body.

Family needs or important social service can legitimately excuse from the obligation of Sunday rest.

The faithful should see to it that legitimate excuses do not lead to habits prejudicial to religion, family life, and health [CCC 2185].

The Code of Canon Law spells out when the holy days of obligation are on the Church’s universal calendar:

Can.  1246 §1. Sunday, on which by apostolic tradition the paschal mystery is celebrated, must be observed in the universal Church
as the primordial holy day of obligation. The following days must also be observed:
+  the Nativity of our Lord Jesus Christ,
+  the Epiphany,
+  the Ascension,
+  the Body and Blood of Christ,
+  Holy Mary the Mother of God,
+  her Immaculate Conception,
+  her Assumption,
+  Saint Joseph,
+  Saint Peter and Saint Paul the Apostles,
+  and All Saints.

These ten are the exact holy days of obligation that are celebrated in Vatican City, but there is variation elsewhere (including in Italy). The reason is
that the Code of Canon Law goes on to state:

Can.  1246 §2. With the prior approval of the Apostolic See, however, the conference of bishops can suppress some of the holy days of obligation
or transfer them to a Sunday.

Thus different countries celebrate different holy days of obligation (apart from Sunday, which they all celebrate).

The country with the fewest number of holy days of obligation seems to Hong Kong, which has only one: Christmas.

Canada has two: Christmas and Mary, Mother of God.

The United States, by contrast, has a fairly robust eight holy days of obligation, though two to three have been transferred to Sundays (depending
on where you live).

The details of how the holy days in the U.S. have evolved are found here.

The details can be a little bewildering though, so here is a complete, up-to-date list of the holy days of obligation in the United States:
Mary, Mother of God (always celebrated January 1, but if this occurs on a Saturday or a Monday there is no obligation to go to Mass)
 Epiphany (this has been permanently translated to the first Sunday after January 1)
Ascension (this is celebrated on different days depending on which ecclesiastical province you live in; a few provinces celebrate it
on the traditional date, which is the Thursday of the sixth week of Easter, but most provinces in the U.S. have transferred it to the
seventh Sunday of Easter.)
The Body and Blood of Christ (this has been permanently translated to the second Sunday after Pentecost)
Assumption of Mary (always celebrated August 15, but if this occurs on a Saturday or a Monday there is no obligation to go to Mass)
All Saints (always celebrated November 1, but if this occurs on a Saturday or a Monday there is no obligation to go to Mass)
Immaculate Conception of Mary (always celebrated December 8)
Christmas (always celebrated December 25)

There is one other wrinkle to the holy days of obligation in the United States: the state of Hawaii.

Hawaii is part of the United States, but it is located in a part of the world where most of the surrounding dioceses belong to the Conference
of Bishops of the South Pacific (CEPAC).

As a result, there is a special indult for Hawaii to regulate its liturgical days in accord with the surrounding dioceses. Therefore, since 1992,
Hawaii has only had two holy days of obligation (besides Sundays), which are the Immaculate Concept (Dec. 8) and Christmas (Dec. 25).
Saint Margaret Mary, RC Church
560 Lincoln Avenue
Staten Island, New York   10306
(718) 351-2612    Fax: (718) 987-0446
Readings & Prayers
Weekly Bulletin
Religious Education
Faith Formation
Religious Links
-Parish Office & Staff
Ministries & Groups
Support & Volunteers
Parishioner Registration
Contact Us
Our Story & Photo Tour
Our Patron Saint
Community News & Events
Neighboring Churches
Multi Media
Olympia Activity Center